How to Become a Nurse in Vermont
All nursing licenses in Vermont are awarded by the Vermont Board of Nursing, an 11-member board that enforces all applicable laws in the state. Vermont is the state with the highest number of nurses per capita, as there are 21.3 nurses for every 1,000 people (the national average is just 12.8 nurses to 1,000 people).
Aspiring nurses in Vermont have a variety of options for nursing school and can learn about the licensing requirements for licensed nursing assistants (LNAs), licensed practical nurses (LPNs), registered nurses (RNs), and advanced practice registered nurses (APRNs) below.
How to Get a Licensed Nursing Assistant (LNA) License in Vermont
In Vermont, nursing assistants are called Licensed Nursing Assistants (LNAs). Students can apply to earn their Vermont nursing license through either examination or endorsement. The examination method is for students and those new to the profession and will require them to fill out an online application and send in a $20 processing fee. Those who went to school in a different state must have their education program send a Nursing Assistant Verification of Education form to the Vermont Board of Nursing; students who completed an approved Vermont nursing education program need their school to send a Nursing Student Applicant for LNA Education form. After sending in these forms, the Vermont Board of Nursing will review the documents and then issue the applicant authorization to take the National Nurse Aide Assessment Program (NNAAP) exam, which they must pass.
Licensure by endorsement is for professionals who already have a CNA or LNA license in another state. They must submit the same application form and fee, as well as a list of all states where they are currently licensed. They will also need to have verification of their original license as well as their current license. The one stipulation is that they must have worked at least 50 days during the last two years.
Renewing a Vermont LNA license must be done biennially. LNAs must submit an online renewal application along with a fee of $45 as well as documentation of working at least 50 days since their last renewal.
How to Get a Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) License in Vermont
LPNs in Vermont can be licensed through either examination or endorsement. Licensure by examination is for recent graduates of nursing programs and requires students to complete an online application and pay a $60 fee. They must also have their school complete a Verification of Education Form. The school can send this directly to the nursing board, or they can provide a sealed, unopened copy to the student to submit with their application. Students who went to school outside of Vermont will also need to include an official transcript. Finally, the last step is to take the NCLEX exam for practical nurses. The cost of this exam is $200 paid to Pearson Vue.
LPNs from other states who wish to earn a Vermont LPN license can do so through endorsement. They need to fill out an online application form as well as send in a $150 non-refundable processing fee. The last step is to provide verification of licensure from the state they were originally licensed in as well as the state where they were most recently employed.
Vermont nursing licenses expire biennially. License holders will be sent three email reminders to make them aware of their renewal deadline. While submitting proof of practice hours is not required, LPNs should have this info on hand in case they are audited.
How to Get a Registered Nurse (RN) License in Vermont
To obtain a Vermont RN license, applicants have two options: licensure by examination and licensure by endorsement. For recent graduates of a nursing program, licensure by examination is most appropriate. To achieve licensure by examination, students must complete the online nursing application and include a $60 non-refundable processing fee. Next, they must have their school send over a sealed verification of education form. The school can also give the sealed verification to the student, who can then include it in their application. Finally, applicants will need to register to take the National Council License Examination (NCLEX) for RNs. This test is administered by Pearson Vue and costs $200.
To qualify for a Vermont nursing license by endorsement, the applicant must have existing certification in another jurisdiction. This jurisdiction must have qualifications and standards that are equivalent to those set by the Vermont Board of Nursing. They must also have worked for at least 50 days during the last two years or 120 days in the last five years. If applicants meet these qualifications, they must fill out the online application, pay a fee of $150 and submit verification of their current licensure as well as their original nursing license.
Renewing a Vermont nursing license must be done biennially, and the process takes place entirely online. They will also need to have a record of the practice hours they’ve completed since the last renewal. While these don’t need to be submitted with the renewal form, if the nurse is audited, they will need to show proof.
How to Get an Advanced Practice Registered Nurse (APRN) License in Vermont
An APRN license is the most advanced Vermont nursing license, so it has the most stringent requirements. All applicants must have a Vermont RN license before they can apply to become an APRN. To begin the application process, they must fill out the online form and submit a $75 non-refundable application fee. They must also have their graduate school send over their official transcripts. These transcripts must include classes on pharmacotherapeutics, advanced assessment and advanced pathophysiology. Additionally, applicants must provide a scanned copy of their current national advanced nursing registered practice specialty certification.
Those seeking a Vermont APRN license must also show evidence of real-world practice. This is called a Transition to Practice period, and applicants must provide the start and end dates for this period. If they are in the midst of it when applying, they must provide a copy of their Collaborative Agreement that’s signed by their supervisor. For APRNs who are licensed to write prescriptions, they must provide their DEA number as well. If the applicant is a licensed APRN in another state, it’s also imperative that they provide evidence of this licensure when applying in Vermont.
Like the other Vermont nurse licenses, APRNs must renew their license biennially. They also need to have documentation of their practice hours upon request in case they are audited during the renewal process.